Benson best and fairest for 2021

Mathieson medallist Harry Benson in action for St Mary's against South Barwon. (Red Onion)

St Mary’s midfielder Harry Benson won the Mathieson Medal on Wednesday, becoming the first Saint to win the GFL best-and-fairest since Ben Lavars in 2010.

The 22-year-old averaged 33.5 disposals per game, including a season-high 47 touches in St Mary’s win over Lara in round 15.

Benson polled 26 of 33 possible votes on Wednesday night, nine ahead of St Joseph’s midfielder and former VFL player Jordan Keras.

St Joseph’s duo Jarred Jans and Lachlan Devine shared the best-and-fairest honours in the reserves as joint winners of the Allthorpe Medal.

Grovedale tall foward Tom Gillett topped the goal-kicking with 42 for the season, which also earned the teenager the Rookie of the Year award.

South Barwon’s Cameron Primmer kicked 32 goals to lead the tally in the reserves.

GFL Coaches Team of the Year

Co-Coaches: Travis Robertson and Glenn Keast from St Mary’s

Backs: Stephen Bensted (Bell Park), Jack Melican (Colac) and Liam McCarthy (Colac)

Half Backs: Ben Lloyd (Bell Park), Daniel Weigl (Lara) and Jack Driver (South Barwon)

Centre: Nick Dixon (North Shore), Jordan Keras (St Joeph’s) and Lachlan Patten (Bell Park) (Captain)

Half Forwards: Jonathan Simpkin (Colac), Mitch Day (Lara) and Cam Tudor (St Joseph’s)

Forwards: Andrew Boseley (South Barwon), Tom Gillet (Grovedale) and Adam Garner (Colac)

Followers: Trent West (Leopold), Harry Benson (St Mary’s) and David Handley (Geelong West Giants)

Interchange: Ryan Abbott (Grovedale), Josh Jaska (St Mary’s), Luke Hillman (Colac) and Jack Blood (St Mary’s)

Umpire of the Year, voted by the GFNL football coaches: Chris Jones

Administrator of the Year: Matt Aston (Leopold)

GFNL Netball Best and Fairest winners

A Grade

Kaitlyn Sheringham (Bell Park) and Victoria Honner (St Josephs)

B Grade

Tania Du Plessis (St Marys ) and Jorden Gavin (South Barwon)

C Grade

Winner: Sarah Hungerford (St Josephs)

Runner Up: Kathryn Eastman (GWG)

D Grade

Winner: Clare Hovey (St Marys)

Runner Up: Caroline Morgan (St Josephs)

E Grade

Winner: Charlotte West (St Marys)

Runner Up: Maddison White (South Barwon)

Netball Hot Shots

A Grade – Jane Cook (St Albans) 369

B Grade – Jorden Gavin (South Barwon) 256

C Grade – Jessica Hardiman (St Josephs) 241

D Grade – Molly Ennor (St Josephs) 170

E Grade – Jessica Johns (South Barwon) 219

Rookie of the Year: Zara Walters (Colac)

Administrator of the Year: Cindy Hannam (St Joseph’s)