Bagg’s bag clinches flag

North Geelong's first XI celebrates after winning the premiership. (Wes Cusworth)

By Luke Voogt

North Geelong has scored an emphatic 78-run victory to win the GCA division one firsts premiership following a five-wicket haul by off spinner Tom Bagg.

Bagg took 5/43 for the Magpies while spearhead Tom Mathieson took 4/20, backing up a stellar year in which he topped the division’s bowling averages.

North Geelong chose to bat first last Saturday, with Sam Hall and Blake Troy combining for an opening stand of 86.

Hall, North Geelong’s best batsman for the season, scored 89 while Casey Meehan hit a quick 39* of 32.

Meehan earned a promotion thanks in part to his monstrous 212 (16 fours, 17 sixes) in the thirds earlier in the season.

Together they helped the Magpies post a defendable 7/224.

After reaching 38 for the first wicket, East Belmont lost two batsmen for one run and struggled to recover.

All-rounder Mitch Troy dismissed danger man Sean O’Neill, the division’s best batsman, for 32.

Thomas Elliot was the only other major contributor with 40, before Mathieson bowled Chris Williams to dismiss the Lions for 146 and begin the celebrations.

East Belmont (155) tasted defeat in the seconds too with South Barwon (3/156) comfortably winning the premiership, while North Geelong (4/104) won the thirds flag over South Barwon (103).

Newtown-Chilwell (9/121) won a one-wicket thriller against minor premiers St Josephs (9/120) to win the fourth XI premiership.

In the division two firsts grand final Ben Muir’s 42 and Matthew Reid’s 59, and excellent team bowling, helped Bell Post Hill (9/192) defeat Geelong City (163) by 29 runs.

City (155) lost again in the seconds with Shane Fowles’ 66* guiding St Peters (5/156) to a five-wicket victory.

In the thirds Brodie Craig’s 122* and Matt Grgic’s 6/14 helped St Peters (2/220) smash Marshall (127) to win the thirds flag too.

In a low-scoring division three firsts grand final Corio posted just 115 including 44 from Shane Bremner.

But Brodie Coon’s 5/32 off 10 helped Corio bowl out St Albans Breakwater for just 92 for a 13-run victory and the premiership.

In the seconds Geelong West (6/219) beat Waurn Ponds-Deakin (159) by 60 runs with Daniel Reed Sharry and Joshua Lythgo taking 4/26 and 4/31 for West respectively.

North Shore won the retire 100s north one day flag while Torquay won the south division.