Art shortlist announced

By Luke Voogt

This colourful, eye-catching, oil-on-linen painting (pictured) by Melbourne-based artist Jan Nelson is among 28 works vying for the $30,000 Geelong contemporary art prize.

Geelong Gallery on Tuesday announced the prize shortlist, which its selection panel chose from more than 600 entries from across Australia.

The shortlist features several artists new to the prize alongside some of Australia’s most acclaimed practitioners, according to the gallery.

The selection panel for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize included eminent art historians and curators Jenepher Duncan and Grazia Gunn together with Geelong Gallery director Jason Smith.

The Geelong contemporary art prize is latest in a series of acquisitive painting prizes staged locally since 1938.

Through these prizes, Geelong Gallery has amassed a large representation of Australian paintings whilst supporting contemporary practitioners.

Previous winners include Andrew Browne (2018), Kate Beynon (2016), Rob McHaffie (2014), Paul Ryan (2012), Tim McMonagle (2010), Nadine Christensen (2008), Sam Leach (2006) and Juan Ford (2004).

The gallery will announce the winner of the $30,000 prize on the evening of May 28.

The 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize exhibition will be on display at Geelong Gallery from May 29 to August 22.

The event is supported by the Dimmick Charitable Trust.


Geelong contemporary art prize shortlist for 2021:

Brett Colquhoun, Jason Cordero, Greg Creek, Jonathan Crowther, Carolyn Eskdale, Diena Georgetti, Julia Gorman, Peter Graham, Helga Groves, Pei Pei He, Linda Judge, Mark McCarthy, Laith McGregor, Jennifer Mills, Jan Murray, Jan Nelson, Rose Nolan, Stieg Persson, Rosslynd Piggott, Bundit Puangthong, Jo Reitze, Norm Stanley, Guy Stuart, Andrew Taylor, Nat Ward, Jenny Watson, Louise Weaver and Peter Westwood.