Stewart best and fairest for 2021


All-Australian defender Tom Stewart has won the 2021 Carji Greeves Medal, adding the Geelong Cats’ best and fairest award to his growing list of achievements.

The clever defender, in his fifth AFL season, enjoyed his finest year yet despite missing the Cats’ last five matches due to a foot injury.

He averaged 24 disposals and nine marks per game, and earned his third All-Australian selection en route to the Carji Greeves Medal.

Fellow defender Jack Henry placed second after a strong season.

In just his fourth year, Henry was a pillar of strength as a tall defender. He played 24 games, missing only the opening round clash with Adelaide.

Tom Hawkins placed third after finishing runner-up in the Coleman medal and leading Geelong’s goal kicking for the 10th consecutive season.

Hawkins finished the season with 62 goals and was named to the All-Australian team for the fourth time.

Hawkins also claimed the Tom Harley award as best clubman.

The award goes to a player who demonstrates outstanding care for his teammates, invests time in all levels of the playing group and who champions the club’s values.

Isaac Smith, in his first season with the Cats after crossing from Hawthorn, finished fourth, with 2020 winner Cameron Guthrie in fifth.

First year Cat Max Holmes was named as Best Young Player.

After being selected at pick 20 of the 2020 national draft, Holmes broke through to play 12 games in his maiden season.

He played in two of the Cats finals and used his pace to advantage in his first AFL campaign.

Esava Ratugolea was named the Carter Family Community Champion for his outstanding commitment to inclusion in 2021.

Ratugolea has been the club’s AFL men’s representative at various initiatives, hosting culturally and linguistically diverse communities at GMHBA Stadium.

Ruckam Darcy Fort claimed the VFL best and fairest award ahead of Oscar Brownless and Charlie Constable.

‘Carji’ Greeves Medal top 10

1. Tom Stewart 214

2. Jack Henry 212

3. Tom Hawkins 189

4. Isaac Smith 187

5. Cameron Guthrie 182

6. Mark Blicavs 156

7. Brad Close 155

8. Joel Selwood 147

9. Jed Bews 143

10. Brandan Parfitt 140