Darke notches up third best and fairest win

Three-time Ash medalist James Darke in action against Ocean Grove in round 14. (Supplied)

Star Torquay midfielder James Darke won his third Ash Medal on Monday night for the best and fairest player in the Bellarine Football League.

Darke polled 20 votes, three ahead of Barwon Heads spearhead Nathan Brown. Modewarre’s Jeremy Ollis finished third with 16 votes.

Modewarre’s Troy Anderson polled 14 votes to win the Don Cole Medal for best and fairest in the reserves, three votes clear of teammate Leigh Anderson and Drysdale’s Peter Kilpatrick.

Ocean Grove’s Mitch Taylor won the Rookie of the Year award after a fine season with the Grubbers.

Lucas Anderson won the senior goalkicking award with 56 while Ocean Grove’s Corey Connor took the reserves award with 27.

Torquay dominated the senior football team of the year with seven players making the final squad.

In the women’s competition Grovedale midfielder Isabella Hill won the top best and fairest medal ahead of Geelong Amateur forward-flanker Emily Ramsay.

Rhianna Arnold from Geelong Amateur and Bianca Cheever from St Mary’s shared the first division goal-kicking honours on 16 apiece.

North Geelong’s Temikka Beeston was the top player in division 2, with Caitlin Pickett from Drysdale placing second in the vote tally.

Drysdale’s Melissa Egan kicked 20 goals to lead the division for 2021.

Charlotte Simpson from St Joseph’s won best and fairest in division 3, while Maggie Caudullo from South Barwon placed runner-up.

Charlotte Simpson (St Joseph’s), Rebekah Lane (South Barwon) and Camille King (Anglesea) shared the goal-kicking medal in a three-way tie on 21 each.

Rookie of the Year was awarded to Isabella Hill (Grovedale), while Jess Case (Drysdale) was named Administrator of the Year.


B: Adam Boshevski (Modewarre), Ben McNamara (Torquay), Will Jacobs (Barwon Heads)

HB: Lauchlan Dalgleish (Drysdale), Dale Carson (Anglesea), Sam Wormald (Torquay)

C: Brad Surkitt (Geelong Amateur), James Darke (Torquay), Cam O’Leary (Barwon Heads)

HF: Callum Currie (Drysdale), Paul McMahon (Torquay), Dale Kerr (Anglesea)

F: James Breust (Drysdale), Lucas Anderson (Torquay), Nathan Brown (Barwon Heads)

Foll: Kobe Annand (Ocean Grove), Brenton Rees (Newcomb, captain), Che Durran (Queenscliff)

Inter: Ashley Caldwell (Anglesea), Tom Hornsey (Modewarre), James Paterson (Ocean Grove), Cam Marchbank (Ocean Grove), Darcy Schilder (Modewarre)

Coach: Dom Gleeson (Torquay)


B: Caitlin Pickett (Drysdale), Abbey Chapman (Geelong West Giants) Sophie Dineen (Barwon Heads)

HB: Tahley Houghton (St Mary’s), Natalie French (Grovedale), Abby Favell (Newtown & Chilwell)

C: Temikka Beeston (North Geelong), Isabella Hill (Grovedale), Charlotte Simpson (St Joseph’s)

HF: Emily Ramsay (Geelong Amateurs), Bianca Cheever (St Mary’s), Cheryl DeGroot (Geelong Amateurs)

F: Aliesha McLean (North Geelong), Rhianna Arnold (Geelong Amateurs), Melissa Egan (Drysdale)

Foll: Stephanie Abfalter (Geelong Amateurs) Sarah Perrott (Newtown & Chilwell), Sophie O’Dea (Geelong West Giants)

Inter: Cecilia Sammut (Anglesea), Maggie Caudullo (South Barwon), Keeley Hardingham (Colac Imperials), Kaitlyn Haustorfer (Lara)

Coach: Tim McGrath (Geelong Amateurs)

Under 17 Division 1

Best and Fairest Patrick Hughes (Torquay) 21 Votes

Runner Up Charlie Vallelonga (St Mary’s) 15 Votes

Under 17 Division 2

Best and Fairest Rory Desnoy (Leopold) 19 Votes

Runner up Zeph Lamperd (Barwon Heads) 15 Votes

Under 17 Division 3

Best and Fairest Jordan Lyons (St Albans) 28 Votes

Runner up Luke Preece (Drysdale) 24 Votes

Under 17 Division 4

Best and Fairest Joint Winners Jesse Stapleton (East Geelong) and Alex Podolak (Lara) 10 Votes

Under 15 Division 1

Best and Fairest Angus Hanley (Torquay) 25 Votes

Runner up Joel Grigsby (Newtown & Chilwell) 19 Votes

Under 15 Division 2

Best and Fairest Joshua Sanders (Lara Founds) 23 Votes

Runner up George Melville (Colac) 19 Votes

Under 15 Division 3

Best and Fairest Tyler Monahan (Queenscliff) 28 Votes

Runner up Ike Hardman (Anglesea) 21 Votes

Under 15 Division 4

Best and Fairest Sammy Lyons (St Albans) 32 Votes

Runner up Jude Payne (East West Geelong) 26 Votes

Under 15 Division 5

Best and Fairest Mark Carter (Bannockburn) 15 Votes

Runner up Oskar Abbott (Surf Coast Suns) 12 Votes

Under 15 Division 6

Best and Fairest Buckley Weber (Bell Post Hill) 28 Votes

Joint Runners up Tyler Pok (Bell Park) and Zachary Zizas (Drysdale) 14 Votes

Under 15 Female Division 1

Best and Fairest Sara Howley (Newtown & Chilwell) 29 Votes

Runner up Kiara Woods (Geelong West Giants) 22 Votes

Under 15 Female Division 2

Joint Best and Fairest Winners Michaela Payne (Barwon Heads) and Sienna Mallon (Colac Imperials) 21 Votes

Runner up Lucy Marescuk (South Barwon) 20 Votes