Five on the trot for North Geelong

North Geelong captain Tom Mathieson and coach Craig Biddiscombe celebrate their premiership win. (pictures Ivan Kemp) 395961_01

By Justin Flynn

North Geelong claimed its fifth consecutive Geelong Cricket Association premiership after a nailbiting draw against East Geelong at South Barwon Reserve on Sunday March 24.

Needing only to draw to win the premiership, the Magpies held on through a magnificent unbeaten 88 from Philip Visser with three wickets to spare.

North Geelong won the toss and bowled first in a bid to force East Geelong to move the game along.

Shane McNamara (69 from 116 deliveries) and Sean O’Neill provided the perfect start and Luke Inglis made a delightful 65 not out from just 54 balls.

But the innings belonged to O’Neill who was unbeaten on 117 from 222 balls when McNamara called a halt to the innings.

O’Neill hit 14 fours and a six as East Belmont declared at 2/276 off 71 overs and captured the wicket of Magpies’ opener Sam Hall before stumps.

The Lions needed nine wickets on day two, but a resolute 29 from 112 balls by Ned Cooper and 40 from 128 from Layton McCann as well as a stubborn 15 from 64 by Adam Costello kept regular wickets at bay.

Jack Jenkins was again terrific for East Belmont. The left-arm quick took 3/57 from 28 overs while Dylan Moroney took 2/71 from 20.

But it was Visser who stood tall, striking 15 boundaries as he remained defiant and unbeaten at the end on 88 from 153 deliveries.

Alistair McCann survived for 20 balls without scoring, but importantly, remained with Visser as East Geelong searched for three more wickets to claim victory.

In the end, North Geelong was 7/209 from 88 overs at the end with the match ending in a draw, but it was enough to clinch the premiership.

ST PETERS held on for a thrilling draw to claim the Division 2 flag against Torquay at Leopold. Adam Trees (46) and Tom Dunn (45) got Torquay to 165 all out with Liam Couch (3/45 off 22 overs) bowling well. At stumps on day two, St Peters was 8/153 after being 8/96 with Joshua Sorgiovanni (38 not out off 164 balls) and Joshua Jackson (25 not out off 64) saving the day. Gurpreet Singh was superb for Torquay with 4/43 from 30 overs.

BELL PARK thrashed top side Thomson by nine wickets in Division 3. Three-wicket hauls from Michael Lymer and Tynan Kelly saw Thomson all out for 110 and then Shane Lymer (44 not out), left-hander Ben Grinter (39 not out) and opener Lymer (27) saw the Dragons home.

LETHBRIDGE defeated Waurn Ponds Deakin in Division 4. A magnificent 90 not out from 94 deliveries from captain Shane Dillon and 50 from Riley Stone got Lethbridge to 3/220. Dillon then took control with the ball to snare 3/24 and Jesse Sheehan took 3/35 to have Waurn Ponds Deakin all out for 129.